My my My my

Hebron Baseball 12Us Advance to Cal Ripken New England Regional Championship

After being crowned District 3 Champions, the Hebron Baseball team 12U tournament time decided that there was still plenty of baseball left to play this season. The team carried their momentum into state championship play and with wins over Oxford, Norwalk and Stratford, Hebron made their way into the state championship game against Brookfield. Brookfield carried an undefeated record in district, state and New England regional play over the past two years, but Hebron battled them punch for punch before eventually dropping an 11-10 game in the bottom of the 6th inning.

Despite the loss, Hebron's season will continue. By finishing as one of the top two teams in Connecticut, Hebron now moves on to compete in the Cal Ripken 12/70 New England Regional Championship Tournament; at stake in the regionals is a trip to the Cal Ripken 12/70 World Series in Branson, MO., the first week of August.

"In the past few years Hebron Baseball has earned a great deal of state-wide recognition for our work off the field and its great now that we are achieving it for our play on the field as well," said Bob Fraleigh, Manager of the 12U team. "This is a very gritty team and our kids do not back away from the moment; I think we are very capable of making some noise in the NE regionals," Fraleigh added.

The NE Regional Tournament will be held in New Milford, CT at 60 Boardman Road. Hebron opens play on Saturday, July 15 at 3:00 against Franklin, MA. For schedule updates, results and to follow the team's progress throughout the tournament, please visit www.hebronbaseball.com and Hebron Baseball's Facebook and Twitter Pages.

Photo caption: Hebron Baseball's 12U Tournament team has qualified to play in the New England Regional Championship, beginning on July 15: Pictured, first row (l-r): Dylan Keefe, Logan Topulos, Matty Fraleigh, Patrick Miller, Jack Luby, Brady Hulland; back row (l-r) Keegan Truscinski, Coach Steve Turco, Ryan Turco, Mitchel Leccese, Jason Tew, Coach Truscinski, Nate Grzybowski, Dustin Hossain, Kevin McCarthy, Coach Bob Fraleigh